Grand Theft

Grand Theft of the Third Degree. A variety of different theft offenses can constitute grand theft of the third degree (considered a felony of the third degree in Florida), including theft of:

  • property valued between $100 and $300, taken from in or around someone’s home;
  • property valued at less than $20,000 (generally; check the statute for specifics);
  • wills;
  • firearms;
  • a motor vehicle;
  • any commercially farmed animal;
  • any fire extinguisher;
  • more than 2,000 individual pieces of citrus fruit;
  • any property taken from a construction site;
  • any stop sign;
  • anhydrous ammonia, or;
  • any amount of a controlled substance. (Fla. Stat. Ann. § 812.014.).

 

A felony of the third degree can result in a term of imprisonment of not more than 5 years and a fine not to exceed $5,000. (Fla. Stat. Ann. § 77.082, 77.083.)

 

Grand Theft of the Second Degree. Some theft offenses qualify as grand theft of the second degree, which is a felony of the second degree in the state of Florida. These include theft of:

  • property valued between $20,000 and $100,000;
  • cargo which has entered interstate or intrastate commerce and is valued at less than $50,000;
  • emergency medical equipment valued at $300 or more, or;
  • law enforcement equipment valued at $300 or more. (Fla. Stat. Ann. § 812.014.);
  • A felony of the second degree may result in a sentence of imprisonment of no more than 15 years and a fine of no more than $10,000. (Fla. Stat. Ann. § 77.082, 77.083.)

 

Grand Theft of the First Degree. This is the most serious level of theft in Florida, and is considered a felony of the first degree. Grand theft of the first degree includes theft of:

 

  • property valued at $100,000 or more
  • a semitrailer deployed by a law enforcement officer
  • cargo which has entered interstate or intrastate commerce and is valued at more than $50,000, and
  • any grand theft in which the offender uses a motor vehicle as an instrument of the crime and causes more than $1,000 worth of damage to real or personal property. (Fla. Stat. Ann. § 812.014.)

A felony of the first degree in Florida carries a sentence of imprisonment of not more than 30 years, and a fine of not more than $10,000. (Fla. Stat. Ann. § 77.082, 77.083.)

 

For more information please contact our office now to set up an appointment with attorney Daniel Lenghea to determine the best cause of action.